Dwarkadhish Temple


Dwarka is the legendary city, the residing place of Lord Krishna, on the shore of the Arabian Sea, the extreme west coast of Gujarat (Jamnagar district). The name Dwarka is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘dvar’ that means door or gate. Dwarka It is among the seven ancient cities of India, which is well known for the Dwarkadhish temple and as the place where Krishna ruled his kingdom. Therefore, it is one of the most momentous pilgrimage spot for the Hindus.

Besides the ruling place of Shree Krishna, Dwarka is the place where Lord Vishnu killed the demon named Shankhasura. Besides this historic event, the Puranas (a holy book of Hindus) one of the 12 JyotirLingas (columns of lights) specifically manifesting Lord Shiva named Nageshwar Mahadev is in the sanctified place of Dwarka.

A popular belief is that this city has drowned six times in the Arabian Sea after Lord Krishna departed from the Earth and the present Dwarka is the 7th such city that was reestablished near the site of old Dwarka.

Sri Krishna abandoned the battle in Mathura for the sake of the betterment of the people dwelling in that city. Therefore, it was named ‘Ranchodrai’. He decided to leave Mathura and founded the Dwarka city.

In the war at Mathura, Sri Krishna had slew Kansa, who was his maternal uncle but was a cruel king ruling the city. Afterwards, he declared Ugrasen, the Kansa’s father, the king of Mathura. This was not accepted by the Kansa’s father-in-law (king of Magadha) and therefore, attacked Mathura 17 times. To avoid harming the people and assure their safety, Shree Krishna and the Yadavas moved to Dwarka.

As told by Shree Krishna, Vishwakarma, a celestial architect, built the city on the banks of the Gomati river by reclaiming a piece of from the sea. At that time, Dwarka was popular by Swarna Dwarika (meaning golden gate due to full wealth and prosperity), Dvaramati, Dvaravati, and Kushsthali. It consists of six well-developed sectors, plazas, wide roads, residential and commercial zones, palaces, and many public utilities.

Public gatherings used to happen in a huge hall named ‘Sudharma Sabha’. The city was a good business centre due to the recognition of a good harbor. There were 700,000 palaces in the city comprising of gold, silver, and gems. In addition, the city encompassed attractive flora gardens and lakes.

Dwarka is a city of District Dwarka in Gujarat State,India. It is a chardham place for Hindu Pilgrimage. Dwarka is

also the kingdom of great Lord Krishna. I don’t know it is true or not but people belived that Dwarka was the first capital of Gujarat. In Dwarka there is a great temple situated of Lord Krishna Named Dwarkadheesh Temple. This temple is also known as King of Dwarka.

Original temple dwarkadheesh was built by Lord Krishna’s grand son Vajaranabhji in 400 BC after the end of Historical city Dwarka. Dwarkadheesh temple is dedicated to lord Krishna and it is included in chardham hindu pilgrimage place which comprise Badrinath,Puri,Rameshvaram and Dwarka.As i told before that original temple was built by lord krishna’s grand son but current temple was built in 16th century. Dwarkadheesh temple is built in Chalukyan style of architecture. This beautiful temple has 51.8 meters height. Dwarkadheesh temple is also known as jagat Mandir. This temple has two shikhars and in between them The nij shikhar is the longer shikhar. It denotes where the deity of Lord Krishna is installed.

Dwarkadheesh Tempe has two entrance one from north and one from south.Entrance from north is also known as Moksha Dwaar and Entrance from south is also known as Swarg dwaar. If you step down from south entrance then you will reach at bank of river gomti. So friends these was all information and history of Dwarkadheesh temple. I hope you like this article. Have a nice day.

For More:

Click Now





Mangla Arti

7:00 AM

Mangla Darshan

7:00 AM to 8:00 AM

Abhishek Pooja (Snan vidhi): Darshan closed

8:00 AM to 9:00 AM

Shringar Darshan

9:00 AM to 9.30 AM

Snanbhog , Darshan closed

9:30 AM to 9:45 AM

Shringar Darshan

9:45 AM to 10:15 AM

Shringarbhog , Darshan closed

10:15 AM to 10:30 AM

Shringar Arti

10:30 AM to 10:45 AM

Gwal Bhog, Darshan closed

11:05 AM to 11:20 AM


11:20 AM to 12:00 PM

Rajbhog, Darshan closed

12:00 PM to 12:20 PM


12:20 PM to 12:30 PM

Darshan closed

12:30 PM Anosar




Uthappan First Darshan

5:00 PM

Uthappan Bhog, Darshan closed

5:30 PM to 5:45 PM


5:45 PM to 7:15 PM

Sandhya Bhog, Darshan closed

7:15 PM to 7:30 PM

Sandhya Arti

7:30 PM to 7:45 PM

Shayanbhog, Darshan closed

8:00 PM to 8:10 PM


8:10 PM to 8:30 PM

Shayan Arti

8:30 PM to 8:35 PM


8:35 PM to 9:00 PM

Bantabhog and Shayan, Darshan closed

9:00 PM to 9:20 PM


9:20 PM to 9:30 PM


  • From Delhi it is 1349 KM away.
  • From Mumbai it is 950 KM away.
  • From Kolkata it is 2555 KM away.
  • From Chennai it is 2268 KM away.


Gujarat – 361335,